Staff & Board

NaNoWriMo Staff

Grant Faulkner

Grant Faulkner, Executive Director

Grant Faulkner believes in NaNoWriMo because stories tell us who we are and shape the world we live in. He has been a writer since his earliest memory, and he’s proud to be the author of Pep Talks for Writers and Brave the Page. He struggles with rough drafts (hence his love—no, his need—for NaNoWriMo), but luxuriates in revision. His dog Buster serves as his lap dog/lap desk and has traveled with him for thousands and thousands of words.

Marya Brennan

Marya Brennan, Director of Programs

Marya Brennan believes that writing fiction is a transformative experience, and she loves helping people (young and old) discover that. She taught middle-school English for five years; has written several beautiful, messy novels (one of them still in progress); and traveled Europe as part of a two-person street circus. She loves revising words she’s already written and making herself laugh. She’s less fond of writing third-person bios. You can reach her at

Tim Kim

Tim Kim, Director of Programs

Tim Kim loves NaNoWriMo, and continues to be inspired by NaNoWriMo’s vision for a better, more creative world. In the past, he’s written for San Francisco, WIRED, and ESPN magazines. The most valuable writing lesson he’s learned is that an imperfect sentence is truly always better than a blank page. He is supremely talented at taking naps, and remains amused by strangers who delight in telling him his name rhymes.


Sarah Mackey

Sarah Mackey, Director of Community Engagement

Sarah Mackey began participating in NaNoWriMo in 2002, became a Municipal Liaison in 2003, and started working for the organization in 2009. She loves finding new ways to help build writing communities and support our Municipal Liaisons. She really enjoys planning novels, delights in messy first drafts, and is extremely bad at everything that comes after that. She is easily distracted by her knitting, her small children, and her cat Weasley. 

Dave Beck

Dave Beck, Technical Director

Dave Beck believes that learning to write means learning to think, and that NaNoWriMo helps the world become more thoughtful. He is the proud winner of the Historical Fiction category of the 2019 Bulwer-Lytton Contest, and plans to start many more terrible novels. When he isn’t keeping our websites afloat, he enjoys coaching high school speech and debate.


Shelby Gibbs

Shelby Gibbs, Operations Director

Shelby Gibbs joined the NaNoWriMo team as a bright-eyed intern in 2012, and has been hooked on cultivating creativity in everyday places ever since. She is also highly motivated by writing-streak badges. When not writing novels or managing the NaNoWriMo store, Shelby enjoys yoga, swimming, and collaging any blank surface in her house. She also loves dogs. (Send photos!)


Letitia Jones

Letitia Jones, Online Community Manager

Letitia Jones believes in the magic of the written word to transport readers to a thousand worlds. During a mad trip to Dublin in 2010, she wrote her first 10,000 NaNo words on a series of bar napkins. She cut her teeth as an ML and then as a moderator. When she’s not in the forums, Letitia can be found protecting her hoard of 200 mugs and coffee cups.


Rob Diaz

Rob Diaz, YWP Forums Moderator

Rob Diaz has been part of the NaNoWriMo community since 2006, because he believes people of all ages need a safe place to be creative. He has had five short stories published and two stage plays produced. As a father, business owner, baseball coach, and marching band volunteer, finding time to write is difficult—but NaNoWriMo has been the perfect excuse for him to drink more coffee prioritize creativity.


Katharine Gripp

Katharine Gripp, Communications Manager

Katharine Gripp has been participating in NaNoWriMo off and on since high school, and finally won for the first time (without cheating) in 2018. She loves getting to share writing advice from authors and participants as part of her job, and tries to pick up as many helpful tips as she can in the process. When not writing, she can be found learning new styles of dance or playing music with her folk-punk band The Forgetmenauts.

Jezra Lickter

Jezra Lickter, Web Developer

Jezra Lickter has been part of the NaNoWriMo team since 2009, when he first worked on our Script Frenzy program. Prior to his time here, Jezra spent eight years as a developer with a company specializing in educational software for children with learning disabilities. He believes in utilizing computers to help people learn, improve, and reach their goals. When not writing code or screenplays, Jezra can be found boat building and butchering tunes on the bagpipes.

Fatima Mahmoud

Fatima Mahmoud, 2021 Tech Intern

Fatima majors in information science and wants to pursue fullstack software engineering. She believes in an ethical and equitable tech future. She spends most of her time listening and making Spotify playlists (ask her about her 3 Beyonce playlists or her Pisces playlist), reading contemporary books, and drinking iced green tea matcha. Most of her writing is journaling, but she’ll occasionally get the urge to start stories that never get finished.

Naudika WIlliams

Naudika Williams, 2021 Editorial Intern

Naudika Williams has been a writer since they could hold a pencil correctly, which, honestly, still depends on the day. They wrote their first novel on NaNoWriMo in 2012 and are now the Editorial Intern. Naudika makes many short stories, scripts, poems, and choose-your-own-adventure games inspired by Afrofuturism and environmental justice. They hope that one day if someone could summarize their work, it would be described as "chaos and too many animal references".

Meghana Sankar

Meghana Sankar, 2021 Programs Intern

Meghana is the Fall Programs Intern for this year, a Bookstagrammer, and occasional Tik Toker. She’s a psychology major by choice and a poet at heart. She has made many attempts to win NaNoWriMo, but maybe this will finally be the year! An ardent lover of Taylor Swift, second chance romance novels, and Animal Crossing. If you have ever wanted someone to tell you a little too much about yourself just ask her for a tarot reading or tell her what time you were born.

Board of Directors

Get to know them!

  • Chris Baty
  • Stephanie Block
  • Cari Borja
  • Rose Brock
  • Karima Cammell
  • Marie Lu
  • Shannon L. Monroe
  • Julie Russell

Writers Board

Get to know them!

  • Gennifer Albin
  • Melissa Anelli
  • Jen Breach
  • Sarra Cannon
  • Alexis Daria
  • Aya de León
  • Susan Dennard
  • Mignon Fogarty
  • Kami Garcia
  • Lindsey Grant
  • Rachael Herron
  • Hugh Howey
  • Maureen Johnson
  • Darynda Jones
  • Michelle Ruiz Keil
  • Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Mur Lafferty
  • Devi S. Laskar
  • Niall Leonard
  • Taran Matharu
  • Marissa Meyer
  • Daniel José Older
  • Danielle Paige
  • Emily X.R. Pan
  • Mitali Perkins
  • Kate Schatz
  • Scott Westerfield